Aloha.

So our super huge announcement is that we have moved from our beautiful, beloved Colorado and are in transition to Oahu, Hawaii. Yes, Oahu, Hawaii. We are almost as shocked as you are. We are the last people who I would expect to take such a huge step of faith but we are convinced that God is calling us to something.

I wanted to share a little bit of our story about how we got to this point because I could always use the reminder and we hope it blesses someone else and encourages them in the faithfulness of God.

I, Sarah, have been going to Hawaii almost all of my life. Most of my memories as a child, involve spending time with my grandparents at their home in Maui and falling in love with the land and people of Hawaii. In my first semester at bible college I felt a very strong, clear promting that I should apply to go to Oahu for my second semester. I was accepted and spent an incredible semester and summer learning, experiencing the island and interning at a new church plant for One Love Church. I was only supposed to spend the semester but God had something else in store. I was listening to one of my teachers give a lecture and they mentioned they had a bad knee. At break, without giving it a second thought, I just got up and walked quite a long ways to find a tall chair for him to lecture from. It is going to sound weird but it was truly the Lord directing stuff b/c my teacher happened to be a Pastor on the island for a church plant. After class was over, he asked me if I wanted to move in with him and his wife for the summer and intern doing youth ministry. After the summer was over, I was hooked but I was determined to get back to the main campus of the bible college so that I could stay on track to graduate on time.

I went back to school and applied for a job to work with Youth for Christ in Oahu, Hawaii. I was convinced that I would be back, living there as soon as I was done with college. Hawaii was permanetley apart of me. My desire to be back with the people, the ministry,the community, burned within me. Long story short, God brought Erik into my life and it wasn’t time for me to go back.

I have spent 9 years praying for God to remove the burden I have felt or for Him to move us. I always felt peace but never a yes or a no. All this time Erik was not interested. He was well aware that if we had an impossible list, Hawaii was on it.

Finally, after three failed attempts to buy a home over the course of 5 years we felt confident that God was moving us on from Colorado but Hawaii was not on our radar. We actually threw our name in a hat to move to Texas! A few months later the Lord started giving us Romans 8:28, “For we know that all things work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purposes.”We were really scratching our heads about why the Lord was giving this verse to us but we kept seeking Him. I don’t even remember how we started to consider Hawaii but we prayed about it, mostly me :).The Lord did some crazy orchestrating but one day I heard Erik mention this book by Hudson Taylor and I tucked it away in my heart because I am addicted to missionary biographies, seriously they are my thing. I tried to order the book the next day, couldn’t find it so I ordered what I thought could be the book. No joke this book came in the mail and sealed the deal for us. If you ever want to know if God speaks, He does. I ordered this random book that I had no idea about and it showed up exactly when we need it the most. So back up a bit. The night before this book arrives, Erik and I are laying in bed freaking out. At this point, we are pretty convinced that God is calling us to Hawaii and the weight of it hits us. We are dumb if we leave Eriks amazing job, our friends, our family, our church, our conveniences, sell most of our stuff etc.  I silently sat there and thought I had made the wrong choice in desiring this move for the last 9 years, like I was the one to blame. Ok so the book shows up and on the cover it says our verse, Romans 8:28- Hello people, what are the odds! And just in case we needed more assurance from Him, in huge bold letters across the back of the book it says,”He will provide for your every need.” I kid you not. We were convinced.

The Lord has continued to lead us, remind us of Romans 8:28 and comfort us through the loss of our former life. It has been a very long, difficult road up to this point but we are so confident in Gods calling. Erik was told by a pastor that better are the consequences of obedience, than the consequences of disobedience. It has been a great reminder!

So I write this from California, where the boys and I ar staying with my mom while Erik is back in Colorado tying up things with his job. We have obviously moved out of our home, sold most of our belongings, shipped the rest, left friends, left family and have been living under the radar and out of suitcases for the last month. In two weeks we will arrive in Oahu and that is where the story pauses. We have no jobs lined up, no housing, and we aren’t sure what God has in store for ministry. We do know that we will be going to One love Church, where I attended 9 years ago. I am so amazed at the story that God has been weaving for so long, all the small things that seemed confusing, random and insignificant at the time but now,I see it better, I see more of the bogger picture. I am in awe of what God has done and can only imagine what lies ahead. We covet your prayers in this season. We will post more regularly on the blog to keep everyone updated about our life and send out prayers cards to anyone who wants one. Email me at proverbs3five@hotmail.com with your address and I will send you one.

Thank you to all those who knew our secret and kept it that way, thank you for those of you who have prayed for us and over our family through this transition, thank you for those of you who bought our stuff and thank you to those of you who are helping us look for housing and jobs in Oahu.

5 thoughts on “Aloha.

  1. Surprise! Please also pray for my amazing, beautiful wife that is quite literally wrestling our boys solo until I rejoin her in CA on the 11th! FEELS SO GOOD TO FINALLY LET THIS LIGER OF A CAT OUT OF THE BAG!
    Peace ~ Erik

  2. So stoked to see you all soon, Sarah! It’s been a blessing to witness how God has worked in and through your (and Erik’s) life over the past several years. God is going to do amazing things through your family here in Hawai`i nei!

  3. Loved reading the story from start to finish on how God called you to Hawaii. Can’t wait to see the rest of the story unfold!!!!

  4. Sarah, I am really blessed by your story! God is good! I have a question for you, when you have time ( ha ha). We are anticipating moving to the Big Island from Colorado in about 6-7 months. How did moving over the island go for you? Did you use Matson? Like I said, when you have time, I would be blessed to glean from your experience. Thank you and bless you and your family! Pam

  5. Super blessed by the story and your obedience!!! Lori and I are praying about some really big life decisions as well and this is really encouraging. So excited to see what God has in store for you guys!

Leave a Reply

